Family BBQ – Personal

It’s always nice regrouping with the whole family. In my own life, that doesn’t happen very often,  maybe 3 times a year. And there’s always someone missing due to work or travel or this, that, and the other. But this last weekend every one of us, 30 total!, made it to the family bbq and the rain even held off for us. What a special time we got to share with each other.

DSC_1680.jpg

The men of course gathered round the grill and each talked big talk but I think they were secretly comparing who could create the biggest flames, the pyros. They grilled up chicken, hamburgers, and hotdogs.

DSC_1685.jpg

The kids all loved spending time with each other and running around the Grandparents backyard. At one point there was even a train of 7 kids, all following each other on some magical back yard adventure. Made me miss and reminisce for my own childhood times. I can’t squeeze behind the bushes like I used to.

DSC_1673.jpg

Of course eventually my camera did come out and I tried to capture the chaotic joyfulness that was going on around me, while trying to play catch up with my siblings. It’s not an easy feat. But I want to capture more moments of my whole family, especially the silly moments like above.

DSC_1648.jpg

My favorite part is watching kids be kids and somehow turn into “super” kids when they get in a group with one another. Things get sillier, messier, much louder, and there is always laughter. I loved watching them be free to have fun and run around testing the volume of their vocal chords and watching how many face orifices could have a carrot stick stuck in them. Just so you know, little man above had a ton in his mouth before I could get a snapshot. Ha ha!

DSC_1646.jpg

I hope your weekend and upcoming weekend is as “magical” as these kids think life is! Enjoy an impromptu session in the “fairy flower bush”!

DSC_1775DSC_1799DSC_1836DSC_1852DSC_1870DSC_1884DSC_1925DSC_1943DSC_1976

6 thoughts on “Family BBQ – Personal

  1. Ем!!! Beautiful photos of a beautiful family. Children have a way of bringing such joy and these portraits show that pure love of just living. Us adults have a lot to learn. Thanks for sharing. Love you!

    Like

Leave a comment